Why Processwire Isn't Coded In Nodejs?

marek747

I am learning web development, and from research (like browsing and asking questions on quora) of languages that i could learn, it seems that JS is a best choice. It can be used for front end and back end too with nodeJS. second best choice for me would be python or ruby on rails.

It seems that there is no reason to go with old school PHP. Yet CMSs like PW or WP are all coded in PHP.

Why is that? why newer technologies are not used? NodeJS is very fast , wouldn't it work great if something like PW would be coded in nodeJS?

I don't know if PHP is wrong or something ... note that i am not a web developer or programmer ... i am just trying to learn some basics in codecadamy right now and then decide which direction to go ... nodeJS is cool right now and has got some benefits like it outperforms PHP in speed ... at the same time I like PW, so i wonder what to focus on in the future.

• Like 1

I'd suggest you learn PHP first :-) [when it comes to server-side tech]...since it is the most popular server-side programming language (>80% of market). On client-side, learn HTML, CSS and some js, or better jQuery ;-)...you can then pick up node.js along the way....but I am biased. Seriously though, it will do you good to learn PHP. It is not going to disappear in the near future (if it does at all)...

• Like 2

Old school PHP, say what ? Then why is PHP powering so much of the internet?

http://www.phphosts.org/blog/overview-of-the-php-programming-language/

quote:

Modern versions of PHP are object oriented just as modern versions of C/C++ are.

In fact, PHPs relationship with the C programming language is so close now that it is possible

for developers to write extensions in C to add additional functionality to the PHP language.

Edit:

How many node.js programmers are wanted compared to php programmers :)

• Like 2

Greetings,