Unable to sort child pages within a top level parent.

simonds

First time using ProcessWire. As a developer I've been impressed so far.

Having trouble sorting a series of pages that are children of a top level page. I've tried sorting them from the Pages page (/admin/page/) as well as from the Children tab of the parent page. I watch the network traffic in Chrome and see that when I move one of the pages there is a POST to /admin/page/sort/ with form data that includes sort=

1. . But when I reload either admin page, or reload the site page that lists them, the order is unchanged.

What am I missing here?

Thanks!

Hi simonds,

As a developer you'll love ProcessWire :)

Hm sounds strange. Can you check if the template of the parent has a predefined setting for sorting the children?

This setting can also exist on the parent page itself under the "Children" tab, at the bottom.

Though Pw should give you a javascript message that the reordering isn't possible because the pages are sorted by field XY.

Which version of Pw? Any 3thparty modules installed?

Cheers

• Like 1

Wanze,

Thanks for the quick response.

In the template settings for the parent page, under Sort settings for children...Children are sorted by, None was selected. Changed to Manual drag-n-drop. Didn't have an effect.

Using PW 2.3.0. No 3rd party modules.

This should be ok.

Can you set $config->debug = true; in /site/config.inc.php? In order to get any error messages.

I just looked at the Class that is handling the sorting: /wire/modules/ProcessPageSort.module.

Maybe you could check in the method sortPages if the query is getting executed?

No error messages when I enable debug.