Compile error after Migrating

theExo

Hey folks,

im pretty new to Processwire. A client of mine asked me to migrate his old (v2.5) Processwire Website. On his server its running on PHP 5.3 and i want to upgrade + migrate the site at the same time. I Downloaded the Site from his server to set it up locally, replaced the /wire directory, index.php and .htaccess with the files of the latest version. After that i changed the DB Connection details in the config.php, swapped to PHP 7.4 and now, when i open up the site on my localhost i get this error:

compile(\ProcessWire\wire("config")->paths->root . "site/templates/includes/head.inc.php",array('includes'=>true,'namespace'=>true,'modules'=>true,'skipIfNamespace'=>true)))?> 
compile(\ProcessWire\wire("config")->paths->root . "site/templates/includes/header.inc.php",array('includes'=>true,'namespace'=>true,'modules'=>true,'skipIfNamespace'=>true)))?> 
compile(\ProcessWire\wire("config")->paths->root . "site/templates/includes/start_content.inc.php",array('includes'=>true,'namespace'=>true,'modules'=>true,'skipIfNamespace'=>true)))?> 
compile(\ProcessWire\wire("config")->paths->root . "site/templates/includes/footer.inc.php",array('includes'=>true,'namespace'=>true,'modules'=>true,'skipIfNamespace'=>true)))?> 

The page itself doesnt load, just a white space with this stuff on it

I checked if the files exist, they do.

I hope anyone can help me with that ? Thanks in advance!

Edited by theExo
tags missing

Here are some quick items to consider, based on how I would upgrade a site:

- start over, back to the original version (2.5)
- Login as superadmin
- enable debug mode from the config
- Make sure the site is fully functional on localhost in the original version;
    if there are PHP errors/warnings on the front end, e.g. related to php version, fix those first before upgrading the site
- Upgrade any modules that are compatible with 2.5