ID-based slug instead of title

woop

Hi! I've been looking for a way to change the way slugs are build when saved. 

I've created a form to post new pages using the api which works great, but I'm not pleased with the path generated.

The path is automatically generated from the title of the page, but I'd rather use the ID instead (similar to youtube's video ids) since my posts are primarily video based and doesn't contain much text.

Current path: 

example.com/video/an-uninteresting-title-that-is-automatically-generated

What I neeed:

example.com/video/5432

So, I don't need to change the parent - just the slug.

Any suggestions? (I'm not too good with PHP)!

Thanks!

thanks! that did it. I tried to manipulate $p->path but with no luck. completely missed $p->name. never crossed my mind to look there. I guess $p->title is used to populate $p->name which is used to create $p->path? Am I getting it right?

• Like 1

• 7 months later...

Thx, Adrian, but this will not work when using $page->children->render() or renderPager() (and a lot of others I assume) since they use page->url to generate the markup instead page->id ...

I guess I don't really know exactly what you want. That module will allow you to link to any page using its ID. Are you want to have internal links in an RTE field be ID based? If that's what you want you could create a simple text formatter module to change the links.

Sorry, I am probably missing your point still. Could you explain your scenario in a little more detail. I am sure there is a way to achieve what you are looking for.

I would like that all PW modules/function/methods be aware of possibility to use IDs instead of urls.

Let say I have page with title Test (url=test, id=1000) and two children: Foo (url=foo, id=1001) and Bar (url=bar, id=1002). echo $page->children->render(); produces something like:

<ul>
  <li><a href="/foo/">Foo</a></li>
  <li><a href="/bar/">Bar</a></li>
</ul>