Advanced Search - Where do I begin.

MuchDev

Hey friends! Well I am finally to the part of my development where I need to begin thinking hard about implementing some form of advanced search. I am a bit of a newbie so please forgive me for asking such a general question. Up until now I have been able to see quite clearly where this project is going. I have all of the items defined that I will be using and I also have all of my main sections mostly fleshed out, what I do not have is anything other then ajax searching and the basic search.php template (with a couple extra fields defined). I have read several form posts about specific advanced search features, but I was hoping for something a bit more general and I would just code from there.  

What I would like some insight on is where should I start in the development of an advanced search interface, what methodologies do people implement when producing a site wide search, and finally are there any really good tools that would make my life easier in this process? Any info is extremely appreciated. 

A highly categorised site is a different beast then a textual 'animal' site. So what advanced is depends a lot from the context of your site.

For a big news portal (mainly textual), I used the google search api to search the site. This way all textual content is searched, even in PDF,s. The results I get back from google (json) I store for 1 hour with markupCache to reduce requests to google. I use the urls from the results to get back to the page Objects. This way I let google do the search and ProcessWire the presentation of the results. ( showing thumbnails etc, headlines descriptions etc. )

But if you have a site with a lot of categories, highly structural. I could imagine you build a chain of selectboxes. This search is a Perfect fit for ProcessWire.

• Like 10

We have used Apache SOLR as search index server. Extremely fast and extensive but not very easy to implement.