Path with filename for image

wjkaluza

I am still learning the tags in processwire so I think this will be an easy question.  I am trying to create a tag that will display the path from the root to an image file that includes the image filename and extension.

I think I am close with the following, but how do I add the filename and extension?

<?php echo $page->image1_thumb->url ?>

Thank you.

Bill

Hi Bill,

Welcome to PW. Everything (almost) you need is here in the docs http://processwire.com/api/fieldtypes/images/ and in the cheat sheet http://cheatsheet.processwire.com  :)

$image->filename// Image filename, including server path

$image->basename// Image filename, without server path

Others are: $image->name; should also work..etc...

Edited by kongondo

Thank you for the references.  I have read through them, but I am obviously not understanding something that should be very simple.

If my image is called image1-cover and I want to display the image filename, including server path, how do I write the statement?  The following does not work:

<?php echo $image1_cover->filename ?>

Bill

Bill,

Are you aware of the difference between single and multiple image fields? Check the "Maximum files allowed" field on the details tab of your image field. If it is set to anything but "1" then you will need to do something like:

<?php echo $image1_cover->first()->url; ?>

If it is "1", then you must omit the "first()"

I have used "url" as I would imagine that you don't really want "filename" as it would look something like:

/var/www/root_folder/site/assets/files/xxxx/filename.jpg

Does that help?

• Like 1

Bill,