Multisites with same templates and different databases

shivrajsa

Hello,

I am new to PW and learning this great tool for web development.

I have already created a site for portfolio showcase using PW

Same site templates will be used for different portfolio showcase with different sites / domain and different database.

For all the sites front end design/display will be same.

So, in future if I wan to modify display of sites, I have to edit template file [ i.e. /site/template/file.php ] for each domain, which is not a good solution.

I want a solution where I will modify at single place and that will be reflected in every domain / site.

Is there any way to achieve this ? Please guide

You should be able to point to different databases in your config.php depending on hostname. Something like this _should_ work, but I haven't tried it:

<?php
// config.php
if($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == 'firstsite.com') {
    $config->dbHost = 'localhost';
    $config->dbName = 'db_for_first_site';
    $config->dbUser = 'user';
    $config->dbPass = 'password';

} else if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] == 'secondsite.com') {
    $config->dbName = 'db_for_second_site';
    $config->dbUser = 'anotheruser';
}

• Like 1

Welcome @shivrajsa,

The simplest way would be for the template files in each /site/templates/ directory to consist only of include() statements, which draw from a central templates directory at /templates/. Ryan suggests something like this here:

Or, as also mentioned in that thread, you could consider using symlinks.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, shivrajsa said:

Thank you @abdusand @Robin S .

For @abdus answer, how can we use different domains on same site folder ? because all template files and config file will be in one folder. I am curious to understand this solution.

For @Robin S , I explored little about symlinks and I discovered, it has to be allowed by hosting provider before going live.

I tried it, it works just fine. Here's how you do it