Jump to content


Photo

adding complexity to template forms


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 diogo

diogo

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,889 posts
  • 2284

  • LocationPorto, Portugal

Posted 02 December 2011 - 11:57 AM

I'm feeling the need to have the template forms more organized to make them more readable for editors. The problem is that, it quite difficult to group pieces of information together inside the same form. I was thinking of two possible solutions for this.

One would be simply dividing the form in columns, so you could for instance, on a restaurant menu, put the name of the plates on one column, and their prices on the other.

The other would be dividing the fields into groups inside each page. I know we could make a page for each group instead, but in some situations I think it just makes it more complicated for the client. Those groups could be there only visually for the form, or they could even be called from the API, why not? $page->group1 could return an array of the fields inside that group.

Just a very rough idea, and a very rough draft on the attachment...

Attached Thumbnails

  • field groups.png


#2 Soma

Soma

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 5,041 posts
  • 3797

  • LocationSH, Switzerland

Posted 02 December 2011 - 02:11 PM

Do you know there's tabs fields you can use to create custom tabs and put fields there. I'm using this quite a lot.

@somartist | modules created | support me, flattr my work flattr.com


#3 diogo

diogo

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,889 posts
  • 2284

  • LocationPorto, Portugal

Posted 02 December 2011 - 03:09 PM

I didn't! Thanks Soma, these are very useful and I had never look at them.
Ryan, couldn't they be used on the default site so people would be immediately aware of them?

#4 ryan

ryan

    Reiska

  • Administrators
  • 7,786 posts
  • 6542

  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 02 December 2011 - 04:09 PM

Ryan, couldn't they be used on the default site so people would be immediately aware of them?


I want to keep the default site profile really, really simple. But also want to get some more site profiles together that the user can select from, and one of these other profiles should definitely demonstrate this feature.

One of these days I also want to figure out how to make the fieldsets/tabs indent on that asmSelect list in the template editor, as I think it looks a bit technical now.

#5 apeisa

apeisa

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,152 posts
  • 1698

  • LocationVihti, Finland

Posted 02 December 2011 - 04:29 PM

One of these days I also want to figure out how to make the fieldsets/tabs indent on that asmSelect list in the template editor, as I think it looks a bit technical now.


I actually use this kind of spelling on fold and tab fields: DETAILS_FOLD and IMAGES_TAB. It helps to separate things, but indent would be nice. Although that is more or less of technical side of PW anyways.

#6 Soma

Soma

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 5,041 posts
  • 3797

  • LocationSH, Switzerland

Posted 02 December 2011 - 10:11 PM

Hehe funny. I'm using "_images_tab" for tabs. The other day I was trying to get them more visible by renaming them to something like "____________images_tab" - but it wouldn't let me and rename it to _images_TAB, seems like only one "_" is allowed. I was a little bit sad, but found it's ok for now, and was sure it will come up somewhere.

Good Idea with the indent Ryan!

@somartist | modules created | support me, flattr my work flattr.com


#7 Nico Knoll

Nico Knoll

    The Boss.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • 393

  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:30 AM

AAHHH! I didn't knew how easy it is to create tabs!!! Thanks to you! I now know it an love it :)

#8 formmailer

formmailer

    Sr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • 46

  • LocationHudiksvall, Sweden (but originally from The Netherlands)

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:31 AM

AAHHH! I didn't knew how easy it is to create tabs!!! Thanks to you! I now know it an love it :)

Same here!

#9 apeisa

apeisa

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,152 posts
  • 1698

  • LocationVihti, Finland

Posted 03 December 2011 - 05:38 AM

It seems definitely place where UI needs some refreshment. Pretty poor percentage of heavy users did know about this :)

#10 diogo

diogo

    Hero Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,889 posts
  • 2284

  • LocationPorto, Portugal

Posted 03 December 2011 - 06:49 AM

Glad I could help  ;D

#11 Pete

Pete

    Forum Admin

  • Administrators
  • 2,388 posts
  • 1437

  • LocationChester, England

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:39 AM

It seems definitely place where UI needs some refreshment. Pretty poor percentage of heavy users did know about this :)


Indeed - I just assumed everyone knew already ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users