What is "Reiska"

Ivan Gretsky

Couldn't  find any translation for Ryan's member title. What is "Reiska"? Google shows some weird Estonian pages... I guess, it is something like "The god of all heavens" or "Megamacho" in suomi, but i would like to fully understand the title of our "beloved leader and godfather of all wires and processes" :).

• Like 4

If you want to know what "Reiska" often means here in Finland, Google Remontti-Reiska and you're getting close. Finnish TV star, media personality, self-taught handyman / construction worker, ex-hockey player, ex-bodybuilder, motorist and a huge person (in more than one way), Remontti-Reiska ("Reiska the Handyman") symbolises all that is good and fair in Finland.

I'm not 100% sure about this one, but I believe that the term "remontti-reiska", which is often used to describe handymen and like in general, originated from this guys TV show.

(There's also a whole series of YouTube videos of his shows, mostly slowed down to make him and the guy helping him seem drunk -- don't worry about those, that's just Finnish Internet humour at it's finest.)

Of course there are other interpretations too, but this is the one I prefer. I think @apeisa mentioned something about this at our last ProcessWire meetup, so he'll probably know better  ;)

• Like 3

I don't know for sure what Reiska means either, but @apeisa told me that was apparently my Finnish name and that it means something along the lines of handyman. I had a member-title spot open, so I put it there. But if it's translating anywhere as "god of all heavens" or something like that, then I need to change it. I'm okay with being a handyman or somebody that fixes things, but need to change it reads as something egotistical. 

• Like 6

So epic :) It just nickname we have been calling Ryan here at Avoine office. I mentioned that to Ryan and since then it has been his member title.