Dynamically Updated Home Page

jmn817

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Processwire and so far things are going very well. However, I'm having trouble with one thing that would help dynamically grow the website. Below is my code that will get the pages under the root directory and list the pages from the specified folder.

<ul id="trending">
    <?php
    $root = $pages->get("/politics/2017/01/17/");
    $children = $root->children("limit=5");
    $children->prepend($root);
    foreach($children as $child) {
        echo "<li><a href='{$child->url}'>{$child->title}</a></li>";
    }
    ?>
</ul>

Is there a way that I can have php automatically search for the newest folder under my directory, meaning the new date?

I go by the date (yyyy/mm/dd) when organizing my pages, and it would be helpful if php automatically got the newest folder (day) without me having to change the folder each day in php.

$root = $pages->get("/politics/2017/01/17/");

Thank you for the help,

Jesse

Welcome to the forum Jesse!

Your code shows a hard-coded date (I assume for this example). Using the current date, limit the number of 'pages' to a quantity, and sort them by date. This will give you x number of pages in chronological order similar to a blog's recent post listing.

Sorry for a simplistic answer. I don't have access to topic listings at the moment. Someone will post here shortly.

Again, welcome aboard!

• Like 1

Hi @jmn817,

Welcome to ProcessWire and the forums.

I am assuming all these are separate pages ('folders)': politics, 2017, 01 and 17? In other words, your tree looks like/will look like?

politics
            01// child of year
                 17// child of month
                 // etc

If you 'day' pages are created chronologically, and not too much in advance (e.g. no day 21 before day 18), and if they have their own exclusive template, the following should achieve what you want I think.

<ul id="trending">
<?php
	//$root = $pages->get("/politics/2017/01/17/");