Introduction and Questions for the PR Community

ryangorley

Hey PR community,
I just wanted to introduce myself and ask some questions.

I'm a marketing and creative professional with some front-end skills mostly acquired by working in proximity with real developers ~20 years and by using technical-ish page builders like Webflow and Oxygen (for WordPress) where understanding HTML/CSS was necessary to make cooler things. I own a small creative agency called Freehive. We're famous among a very few people for creating release videos for GNOME and Ubuntu Desktop, and more recently helping Thunderbird redesign their website. We use Free and Open Source Software for design, animation, etc. and I'm regularly trying to convince creatives to kick their Adobe/Autodesk addictions subscriptions. I helped create the Inkscape marketing team several years ago and actively contributed there until a recent (necessary but temporary) break. I love FOSS, I love tools anyone can pick up and make a better life with regardless of their financial means. When I was looking for a more secure, open, and elegant solution than WordPress, you can only imagine how delighted I was to discover ProcessWire.

With that background out of the way, I've got some questions:

1. Have you found it difficult to convince clients to use something other than WordPress? What do you tell them, if so?
  2. If you've worked in the WordPress ecosystem, what do you miss?
  3. What are your top three (or more) dev tools or must have modules for making ProcessWire life easier?

It's a lot to ask, so I appreciate even partial responses. Thanks, @ryan for creating this magnificent tool and sharing it freely. I really hope I can make it work and to give back somehow.

• Like 11

44 minutes ago, elabx said:

RockMigrations, FormBuilder, ProCache, I think all if not most ProFields. DDEV for local development.