Joomla vs. PW

totoff

Hi folks,

I'm currently engaged as a consultant for a lager scale web project. I advise on strategy, information architecture, content etc. but very few on the operational side of things. Coding will be done by guys that favor Joomla as CMS platform to go.

Apart from my personal like of PW, I've never ever heard anything positive about Joomla from the community and I'm almost convinced that it is not the right choice for an enterprise-level project like ours. However, I'm lacking arguments as I have no experience with the system and everything I "know" is from hearing.

Knowing all the pros for PW from my own experience I would like to learn what are your arguments against Joomla? Glad if you could give me an idea from your point of view. Maybe there is a small chance I can position PW as better alternative or - if not - at least avoid a wrong decision and vote for an enterprise-level system like Drupal or Typo 3.

Just to clarify: this is not about bashing a competing CMS, it's about investing a significant budget wise.

Thanks.

• Like 1

Just. Don't. Use. It.

Seriously: I worked with Joomla exclusively a while ago (around 2004/2005) and the whole concept hasn't changed imho.

The main problem is: It is by no means a flexible content management system, it is more a portal system. Let me explain what I mean:

Let's say you have a large scale company with 1000 employees. All of those employess have a name, an email, a title and a linked department. You want to display one/several employees on each page in a kind of sidebar.

The PW way:

- Create a employees template

- Add desired fields

- Create page field in your other templates for selecting employees

- You are then totally free to select employees in your template and you are able to output what you like (HTML, CSS).

- You also have the possibility to use that information somewhere else because these are just usual PW fields.