[Solved] First PW cron job--tips on getting started?

MarcC

I would like to make a cron job that moves pages from one parent to another parent, if a given page field has ID == n. It's kind of a cleanup function--somebody can mark a "project" page as "complete" and it is auto-archived.

I'm new to this sort of scripting, so I looked at the API to see if I could figure out how to move a page. Would I clone the page with the different parent, then delete the page? That seems like one option that stood out as I browsed the cheat sheet.

Thanks for any tips.

Basically do what these chaps are saying - add a checkbox field like Soma says, then as Apeisa says have a module look for the checkbox before the page is saved and if it's checked then change the parent and continue saving as normal.

If I had more time this morning there actually is very little code to this but I've got to go to work - I'm 100% certain someone will be here with some code soon though :D

The actual code that does the page "moving" in amongst the other module code is actually as simple as this:

// ...Module code above to intercept page save, check for correct template and a ticked checkbox

$page->parent = $pages->get('/path/to/archive/page/');

// ...Rest of module code. No need to $page->save(); since we're going to hook before page save so the save routine will continue as normal after this

Thanks guys. Do I really have to use the checkbox? (And write a module?) My client is already using a drop-down menu for "In Progress," "Waiting for Customer," "Completed," etc. So a checkbox would actually make the design more complex for the client. They just want to set the item to "Completed" and see it archived sometime in the next day. :-) They are using a front end that already hides an item if it is marked as Completed.

$page->parent = $pages->get('/path/to/archive/page/');

Ah, of course. Seems so simple compared to what I was thinking.  :-[