PW 3.0.154 – Core updates

ryan

Here’s a brief update on what’s new in the core since last week. Next week I’m going to compile a more complete overview of everything that’s in 3.0.154 (and more) and put it in a blog post. I wanted to do that today, but my kids have needed a lot of help with various things today (and this whole week actually) with all of this online school stuff and I’ve run out of time. We're a few weeks in and school is cancelled for the rest of the year due to the coronavirus (likely the same around the world). I'm still learning how to adapt to kids around all day and needing attention, but overall it's nice to have the family around more even if it is sometimes hard to get work done. So I’ll keep this sort of brief, and get into more details next week. 

Several updates were made to the core/LanguageFunctions.php (language functions) file, with biggest being the option to programmatically replace translation text (whether multi-language support is installed or not), useful for very easily updating core/module output to say exactly what you want, and without needing to install multi-language modules. No longer do you need to use various hooks to change text in one module or another. Also moved the __('text') configuration options to dedicated functions which makes it more clear to use, as well as much better for documentation purposes: wireLangEntityEncode(), wireLangTranslations(), wireLangReplacements(). You'll see these new functions in our docs by next week. More details and examples of these in action in next week’s blog post.