Image count translations (1 image, 2 images, 3 images)?

Roych

Hello

I'm working on some gallery and Im counting images in each album. So I have the number but now I would like to echo the text IMAGE, IMAGES next to the number of images. How would I do this?

I need more than just 1 image, 2 images. In our language we also have dual so I need (in slovenian) 1 slika, 2 sliki, 3 slike, 4 slike, 5 slik ...... I have two languages ENG and SLO!

Im counting images with: 

<a href="<?=$album->url; ?>"><div class="imgcount"><?=$album->images->count();?> IMAGES???</div></a>

I hope you know what I mean. Im not a coder, not realy sure where to start here.

Thank you

R

@Roych

Does this only apply to the first 5 numbers, or do the slovenian language rules go beyond that?

If the former, you could simply create a switch/case with the image-count, and then output either slika, sliki, slike, slik in the output.

Perhaps you'll need to create a translateable string variable __('foo') for this, so that you have an equivalent ENG as well (not sure which is your primary site-language).

Hello

My primary language is Slovenian. The numbers go to 5 from then on it can always be SLIK (Images). 

I was thinking the translatable string variable so I can translate both languages. But not sure how to set this up. Does it have to be the php "if else" statement or is there some other aproach? I'm kinda lost here. 

Thank you

R

$imgCount = $album->images->count();
$imgStr = '';

if ($imgCount) {

if ($user->language->name === 'slo') {

switch ($imgCount) {

case 1:
                $imgStr = "slika";
                break;

case 2:
                $imgStr = "sliki";
                break;

case 3:
            case 4:
                $imgStr = "slike";
                break;

case 5:
            default:
                $imgStr = "slik";
                break;
        }

$content .= "<p>$imgCount $imgStr</p>";
    } else {
        // not slovenian: