How to automatically create a bunch of child pages when saving?

titanium

I'm quite new to ProcessWire, but I'm already there where the fun part starts :grin:

I'm trying to build a module which fires when a page with a certain template is saved. It should create a set of four child pages of this page then. Each of this four pages has a template which has the same name as the page title. It works so far, but there is a problem when this page is deleted afterwards. The error message is: "Duplicate entry 'filialen-3235' for key 'name_parent_id'

I suppose that if a page is moved to the trash, it is saved again, therefore the function runs again. Somehow I have to suppress the trigger if the page is moved to trash, but I don't know how.

Thanks for any hints!

My code looks like this. I'm sure it's pretty inelegant. :(

public function init() {

$this->pages->addHookAfter('save', $this, 'createPages');

}

public function createPages($event) {

$page = $event->arguments[0];

// if template of page does not have id 46, do nothing

if($page->template->id !== 46)

{

return;

}

// four new pages should be created

$titles = array('child1', 'child2', 'child3', 'child4');

foreach($titles as $title)

{

// if page already exists: break

if($page->children('title=' . $title)->count() !== 0)

{

break;

}

// else: create new page

$newPage = new Page();

$newPage->template = $this->templates->get(strtolower($title));

$newPage->parent = $page;

$newPage->title = $title;

$newPage->save();

}

}

• Like 1

Welcome aboard :)

If we assume that these will be the only four child pages then you could do this maybe (untested):

if ($page->children()->count() > 0) {
   break;
} else ...

Or if there could be more child pages then the other way would be:

$skipchildcreation = 0;
foreach ($page->children as $child) {
   if (in_array($child->name, $titles) {
       $skipchildcreation = 1;
   }
}