Drop-Down Menu not showing on back pages

spercy16

I'm having an issue where my navigation bar isn't showing up on the back pages of my site. I am new to ProcessWire and definitely don't have it all figured out yet. If someone could explain why it isn't working on my child pages and provide me with an updated snippet that will work on those pages I would really appreciate it. Here's the code I'm using on my home page:

<?php function listChildrenTree($children)
		{
			echo "<ul class='w-full text-white lg:block lg:float-left'>";
			foreach ($children as $page) {
				echo "<li class='relative w-full lg:w-auto'>
							<a href='{$page->url}'>
								<div onclick='showSub()' class='block pt-2 pb-3 pl-6 lg:pr-6 button'>
									{$page->title}
								</div>
							</a>
							";
				if ($page->numChildren) listChildrenTree($page->children);
				echo "</li>";
			}
			echo "</ul>";
		}
		listChildrenTree($pages->get('/')->children);
?>

2 hours ago, spercy16 said:

$page is the API variable for the current page you are on, so you can not redefine it here. Better take

foreach ($children as $child) {

That didn't help me at all. Like I said I'm new to ProcessWire.... I tried replacing that statement with yours, as well as the other references to $page (because they were "undefined variables" after changing the first statement) and the menu still didn't show up on my child pages.

29 minutes ago, spercy16 said:

That didn't help me at all.

I didn't say that would solve your problem. But it was necessary anyway.

I'm not sure that how you're calling the function recursively is correct.

Hi @spercy16,

First of all, Please be kind to someone who just want to help you out even his answer is not that you want or need. Generally speaking the ProcessWire community is very kind and willing to help. I am sure you will have your help if you are kind and patient enough.