Problem with user permissions

Slav

Hey Guys, 

I found a problem with user permissions of a PW site that Im working on. Im new to PW and not sure if there is a problem in setting permissions or is it some bug.

It is difficult to explain properly but I will try... The problem is that I have a role called "exponent" and this role has permissions like page-edit, page-add, page-create etc... Now if I create a user and give that user a role of "exponent" and set permission to only edit a particular page (lets say the name of the page is "Test") then if I understand correctly, that user should have all the "exponent" role permissions only for "Test" and all the other pages are only viewable (considering that "Test" page template access is defined as well). Now if I log in as that user and look at the pages tree, then at first it looks that permissions work properly, but for some reason that I don't understand the user has permission to add new pages to the 2nd level child pages, everywhere. 

test_page.png.d6b48aa14a713613757caf8c84ea2ce9.png

Here we see the only page that the user is allowed to edit.

other_pages.png.900efd4faaa9defa3255280c3e8e37c6.png

Here is how the user sees other pages (he can only view).

problem.png.058d75aa20e5873806af96123eab9462.png

And here is the problem. User has permission to add page to 2nd level child pages and he can do this everywhere. So my question is how is this possible or what should I do to fix this? Has anyone else had similar situation?

Thanks!

@BitPoet, So basically there's no actual solution? Only work around? What if I want to create a user who has permission to edit a particular page and add child page's to that page and not any other page? And have many users with same permissions (particular that users page)?

@Robin S, oh thanks that module looks useful!

2 hours ago, Slav said:

So basically there's no actual solution?

There's always a solution ;)