steve

Hello,

I am new to processwire and this forum. To introduce myself: I have been a graphic designer for more than 30 years with older skills in print and newer skills in web application development. During the last years I've built some projects with pure PHP - not only single websites, but quite complex things like a public relations tool for a big company. Now I have been searching for a helper tool for future projects, and after a lot of search, trial and error I have  - finally, as I hope - found processwire.

I have read quite a lot in this forum and the processwire website, watched some videos and searched the web. I as well have read Rob's post from 2012-06-26 about the integration of Silex and processwire, which seems quite interesting for me too. (http://processwire.com/talk/topic/1403-template-engine/?hl=silex#entry13039)

Now, finally, my question:
Can processwire as stand-alone be the tool that fits my requirements?
Or would I need addidtional tools like Flourish or Silex (or whatever)? Will the user management out of the box be ready for my purpose?

The Site/application that I want to build has no public site aspect, think of it as a kind of "secret skyscraper database" like in the processwire demo, but it can only be viewed and edited by authenticated users (closed user group). The customer wants to search, view and edit the database (pages) and occasionally add oder delete some users with slightly different limited permissions. There should be a backend - accessible only for me as developer, but not for the customer's staff - for authentication, logging, file access  and e-mail traffic whith attached files chosen from the site/database.

These roles and users should be managed by the application:

Superuser and app builder (only me, none of the customer's staff):

• Has all permissions, may build and administer the whole application and its backend.

Super-User-Admin (only one or two accounts for responsible persons of the customer's staff)