caldav / baikal list of coming X events

mijen

I would like to add a list of say the 5 next events from a caldav calendar server (I'm using baikal). Initially it could be just a single field including a list or table with the 5 next events, with say the first 10 words from the description of each event. Ideally it would be possible to browse the calendar (read-only) but I would like to start out with something that can be added without any programming skills (if possible).

/Michael

Hello forum, 

I'm a newbie using Processwire, so feel free to let me know if the description of above doesn't make sense, and requires better description. Or maybe the solution is so simple it is a dumb question? I have seen solutions using google calendar, but from what I could see it doesn't use the caldav interface of google cal, is this correct? 

I'm using a mysql backend for the caldav server, maybe it would be easier to try to get the entries directly from mysql database instead. This is also an option to consider, if there is already functionality in processwire that directly supports this. 

/Michael 

Michael, it sounds to me like you want to use a web service to display a calendar. Is that correct? Or are you wanting to import the calendar to your site into pages? Since your goal is to display a table with the 5 next events, I think the best bet is to use an approach similar to the MarkupRSS or MarkupTwitterFeed module, which is to poll the web service, display the results, and optionally cache them for a period of time. I've not worked with caldav or baikal, so don't know the considerations there but most likely the approach you take would be the same in ProcessWire as it would be outside of it. Meaning, any PHP examples you find from the company providing the service should be applicable in ProcessWire. 

Kongondo,

Thanks! 

Ryan,