confused - is PW more complicated than I need?

fredthered83

Hi Everyone,
I am new to PW and I am still trying to figure out if it is the solution I need for a specific site Im working on.

My situation is I have made a website for a company which they need to be able to Content Manage.

What I need PW for is to create the user a back end to log into which will display all their current projects with images and allow them to view/insert/edit/update and delete them (multiple image upload required). Each of these projects/records will have a Title, Short description, Full description and 4 images.

I don't need to confuse the client with any other options such as creating templates or pages etc.. They just need to edit the projects and then view them live on the site. Is it possible to do this in PW?

I have installed PW on my web server already and had a play around with the basic site but cannot see how to display and edit records from the DB.

Any advice you can give as to whether Im barking up the wrong tree with PW or any links to tutorials which may cover my situation. Any tutorials I have seen so far don't cover editing records just editing page content..

Thanks in advance for any help :)

Hello Fred, welcome to the forum.

ProcessWire is as simple or as complicated as you want it to be, and I doubt that there is any other CMS that allows for extreme simplicity as PW does. When you enter the admin for the first time you are logged in as superuser, and that's why you see the setup and modules links. To give you an idea of how the admin would be for your client follow these steps:

• Go to Access->Roles and create a new role named "editor". Check the boxes "View pages", "Edit pages" and "Delete pages". Press "Publish".
  • Go to Access->Users and create a new user. Give the user a password, and under "Roles" check the boxes "guest" and "editor". Press "save".