Problem installing Processwire

Crownofthorns

Sorry complete noob here. I am trying trying to install processwire on my webserver as I plan to build my website with it but am encountering a problem. In have uploaded and extracted the files and am now onto the installtion screen.

It's trying to install with this information which I gather is the default?

Database Host

localhost

Database Port

But I am getting these errors:

Access denied for user 'Databaseuserexample'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

Database connection information did not work.

I am sure this is something simple that I am doing wrong... Is that the right database host and port? Or is thing something to do with permisions if so where do I change them? Thank you.

You haven't mentioned, so I will, that you need to create a mySQL database and a user of that database for PW to use. 

If you are using a WAMP, XAMP or LAMP setup, they often come with phpMyAdmin already installed, or if you are on a hosted server you might have cPanel, all of which allow you to create a db and a user.

Is that any help?

• Like 1

You haven't mentioned, so I will, that you need to create a mySQL database and a user of that database for PW to use. 

If you are using a WAMP, XAMP or LAMP setup, they often come with phpMyAdmin already installed, or if you are on a hosted server you might have cPanel, all of which allow you to create a db and a user.

Is that any help?

Oh, I thought that's what is was doing for me. :-[

Oh, I thought that's what is was doing for me. :-[

Don't worry about it. You need to create an empty db and a user. It's a security thing. Keep a note of the db name, the db user's name and password, enter them in the installation screen and you should be good to go.

• Like 1

Hi Crownofthorns

Depending on what your experience level is, you may want to try one of these tutorials (or both!)

http://wiki.processwire.com/index.php/Small_Project_Walkthrough