Creating a Simple Select [Please check for accuracy]

Joss

(can someone check this for accuracy and let me know any changes I should make - I am very new to PW)

I wanted to create a simple select drop-down, but there isn't one in Processwire by default. Reading the forums, it became clear this was for very good reasons and that you are expected to use pages.

But I couldn't find clear instructions how to do this. So, having worked out how, I wrote myself this little tutorial:

#####################

Processwire by default does not have a simple select field.

The reason, given by Ryan the developer, is that a plain simple select field is not related to the database, so you have, in effect, some of your data in a flat file - sort of - which is not good practice.

The preferred way of doing select fields is by using pages for the values and the Pages field to list them in your form. If you just want a simple on/off state, use a checkbox, but if you need more options, then this is the way.

Creating Pages for Select Fields

These pages must be published to be accessible by the pages field but are obviously not wanted on the website.

1. First, create a dummy template (a tempalte with no associated file) called something like "selects." Give it two fields - the normal title field and a text field called select_value
  2. Create a Top Level (child of Home) page called Selects (or something friendly). Give it a blank dummy template. Make this page hidden.
  3. Create a child page and call it something that will work for this group of selects - perhaps call it "Yes No." Again, give it a blank dummy template
  4. Create three children under this - one called Yes, another called Maybe and a third called No. Use the dummy template "selects" that you created earlier.
  5. In the select_value field put a value - in this case the most obvious would be yes, maybe and no! For ease of use, make sure these values have no spaces or anything clever.