Fatal Error: cannot redeclare function

Peter Troeger

Hello :)

My last problem after upgrading to PW 3 was just solves and already do I have a new one :/

My site doesn't load corrctly and I get the error

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare stripTags() (previously declared in /site/assets/cache/FileCompiler/site/templates/_functions.inc:24) in /site/templates/_functions.inc on line 32

I looks almost like it's loading the functions file twice. Once the one in my template folder and once the one in the cache folder.
I tried deleting all folder in cache und deleting wire completely and reuploading it.

I still get the same error.

Anyone any hints for me?

Thanks a lot!
Peter

I'm only new to this too, but at a total guess:

1) Does this happen when you turn caching off and load the site?

2) Is 'stripTags()' a built in function (part of $sanitizer) and you're redefining it in your functions file?

3) Is the functions file only included once, and not somewhere else as well in another template? If '_init.php' (or whatever you've called it) is appended to your site, the functions within your '_functions.inc' file will already be available to all your other templates.

// _init.php

// Include shared functions
include_once("./_func.php"); 

4) What happens if you remove 'stripTags()' from your '_functions.inc' and then try and call this function in another template i.e. in home.php? Does the function still work?

I might be well off track but I'm sure the more experienced members will have a better idea. However, these are the avenues I'd try if you haven't already.

• Like 3

Hi Sam,

thanks for your good thoughts :)

1)  This happend after my upgrade from PW 2.7 to PW 3. I cleared the cache completely. Not sure if I can turn off the cache now. Is there some code i can add?

2)  and 4) when I delete stripTags, it just gives me an error that the next function in _functions.inc is redefined.