Newb: Database rows to grid of items

Mercury

Hello,

I am a total newb to processwire but have experience with other cms and frameworks. I saw a video and got a basic understanding of how processwired is used for simple webpages. If i want to get rows from a table i found i can query them like this 

$result = $this->db->query("SELECT id, name, title, url FROM yourtablename WHERE id=$id");
and i know i could then loop and print the results on a grid with the html.

I was wondering is there a way to use partial views in this? Should i use the fields or simply echo these and create fields only for things i fill by hand?

If they are links and the page i go to has the respective data how do i go about it? Do i query again for only one row using the id from the url and echo the values? Do i use the fields of process wire in this case? 

Even if there are different ways to do it i would like the proper one so that i dont regret it later or when i do some expansion.

Any advice or link to guides are welcome.

Hello @Mercury and welcome to the forums,

Do you really want to use MySQL queries? Why not the API instead? See, for example:

https://processwire.com/api/selectors/

I do not know what you have read/watched so far, but probably the best article to start with is this one:

https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2016/07/the-aesthetic-of-non-opinionated-content-management-a-beginners-guide-to-processwire/

A tutorial that I can also recommend (among other things it utilizes the twig template engine which you might not need, but other important concepts are also demonstrated):

http://blog.mauriziobonani.com/processwire-basic-website-workflow-part-1/

• Like 7

Hello again,

I read some more and i understood some things.

Lets say i want to have a list of cars. So that when a car is clicked i go to its individual page.

Templates are linked with fields.