Meaning of Family Setting: Can this template be used for new pages?

aldumas

I'm new to PW and a little unsure of what "Can this template be used for new pages?" means. The behavior I am seeing does not fit my intuition and I am hoping someone can help me understand.

I created a new template and then a page that uses it. Then I went back to the template family settings and selected "No" for "Can this template be used for new pages?" thinking that I would no longer be able to use this template when creating a new page.

But when I went to create a new page, the template was selectable from the droplist, and PW let me save the page. I expected that the template would not be visible in the droplist, and even if it were, I expected PW to prevent me from being able to save a page that tries to use it.

I am using ProcessWire 2.6.

Thanks for your help!

That the template is still visible in the dropdown is not how it should work. The second part is different. In the backend there could be a "second" check after submission of the page-add form and before the page will be finally saved, but really hiding it from the dropdown should be enough (as long as it works). From the pure api side there's no restriction to prevent the addition of new pages. 

I can't reproduce this. When not allowjng to create new page with the template, I can't select it (means it's not there) when adding a new page.

Here are my steps to reproduce using ProcessWire 2.6.1. Will you please give it a try?

1. From menu, click Setup -> Templates -> Add New.
2. Input template name, e.g. "justonepage".
3. Click Add Templates.
4. From menu, click Pages.
5. Click New next to Home page.
6. Input title, e.g. "Page Uses My Single Page Template".
7. Choose template from step 2.
8. Click Save.
9. From menu, click Setup -> Templates -> (name of template from step 2).
10. Click Family.
11. Select "No" for "Can this template be used for new pages?".
12. Click Save.
13. From menu, click Pages.