General process for a multi-language website

Hi everyone :)

I'm new to PW, discovered it yesterday and playing with it today and I have to admit that I amazed, It powerfull but still so simple, I don't why I had never heard of it !

Anyway, I'm wondering how you would create an international website (2 languages, french and english). My only requirement is that the language bust be present in the URL.

At first I thought I could create 1 child to Home for each language and "duplicate" each page in both languages but this seems a bit too much, I'm pretty sure you could tell me how I could add a variable at the beginning of the uri or something like that. Or maybe another solution :)

Anyway great CMS/Framework here, I'm pretty sure I'll use it for a lot of websites (my portfolio is already on the way).

Hi HammField,

welcome to the forums.

I did exactly what you are thinking about: keeping two structures, one for each language. It may seem like much more work than having one structure with multiple languages, but ultimately, it isn't.

If I created larger multilanguage site with PW, I would do it the same (actually, I did it on my portfolio) but with minor addition: use API to create the second (and ultimately, any other) language. Create one side of tree for your main language, with everything in place, then create one 'tools-duplicate' page with special template, where you'll just cross-examine your 'finished language' branch and duplicate it into root – so you don't have to create it manually.

Possible addition to this is to have different templates for each language's pages. I did this with my portfolio items: since I'm lazy to add the very same pictures to pages in both languages, my secondary language just takes images from primary language pages.