Back to basic

jzvanenk

This is my 3rd day trying PW, and I am new to CMS/CMF as well. I followed the tutorials for simple walk through and the basic web site happily.  (Thank you heros!)   But when I started trying more stuff, such as building an article index page, I struggled more.  I realize what I am confused about was really something quite basic,  such as where are the snippets of php code go beside on templates?  Can they go on a page as the value of body field for example?    I tried it without success.  I would appreciate
it if someone can point me to a place where I can find answers to more basic questions for novice, and perhaps some introductory concepts for the architechture?  Thanks in advance!

Welcome jzvanenk!

Answering directly to your question. The snippets don't go inside the fields, they go directly on the template files. The code you have on the template files is PHP, just like the snippets yo are talking about. So, when you have this on the planets tutorial:

<html>
    <head>
        <title><?php echo $page->title; ?></title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <h1><?php echo $page->title; ?></h1>
        <h2>Type: <?php echo $page->planet_type; ?>, Age: <?php echo $page->planet_age; ?> years</h2>
        <p><?php echo $page->planet_summary; ?></p>
    </body>
</html>

You can also have this:

<html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
        <header>
            <ul id="all-planets">
            <?php
                // list all planets and link to their pages
                foreach($pages->get("/planets/")->children as $planet){
                    echo "<li><a href='{$planet->url}'>{$planet->title}</a></li>";
                }
            ?>
            </ul>
        </header>
        <h2>Type: <?php echo $page->planet_type; ?>, Age: <?php echo $page->planet_age; ?> years</h2>
    </body>
</html>

edit: that is the same as this (entering and leaving php to write html):

<html>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
        <header>