Cannot View Unpublished Pages

Lauren

Hi there,

I'm new to PW and loving it so far! I'd just like to know... is it possible to have view-only access for unpublished pages?

I can't seem to get that level of permission working without also having to grant EDIT access, which I don't want to do.

Thanks!

Lauren

I'm guessing you're talking about allowing back-end users the ability to only view unpublished pages, but not be allowed to edit them. I remember wondering about this myself on day one of ProcessWire. Basically, go to the edit view of whatever page you want this view-only behaviour to apply to, then go to the settings tab and in there you'll see under "Status" the option... "Locked: Not editable". Check that, and now the page can be seen but not edited. I think that's what you're looking for.

EDIT: Oh yeah, and furthermore, you'll see the extra "who can access this page" options under there where you can adjust specific user permissions on a page-by-page basis.

Be aware this makes the page visible for guests as well. I’m not actually sure if what you’re looking for is possible in PW out of the box.

Ah, didn't know that, thanks! But I think the second option "who can access this page" is the solution. You can set up any number of permissions there on a user-by-user, page-by-page basis should you desire.

• 1 month later...

Sorry all! I assumed I'd automatically get a notification when there was a reply! Now, I see that I needed to "Follow the topic" :)

Okay. So, here's what I'm looking to accomplish:

Essentially, what I'd like is a "reviewer" Role that I can give to users which allows them to log into the admin, see the Pages list and view any Page, both published and unpublished.

Here's what I've done:

• Added a new Role called "reviewer" with page-view permission post-2808-0-79104300-1419877727_thumb.pn