gRegor

Upgrading 2.5 dev versions

In early August I installed the dev branch of ProcessWire 2.5. I'd like to upgrade to the latest dev version. Does that entail just uploading the latest version of the files, then checking the install.sql file and making changes to the database manually?

Unfortunately, I did not make note of which Git commit it was I installed from, though I could probably narrow it down to the date. The footer reports v2.4.10, but I don't think that's correct?

Thanks for any help. I'm new to running dev versions of PW.

He, if I get you right, you have version 2.4.10 installed and want upgrade to 2.4.17 (or the latest version available)?

• you should make a DB-backup
  • rename your current wire folder to something like wire-2410
  • rename your current index.php to index.php.bak or something
  • and then upload only the wire folder of the latest version and the index.php

Regarding changes in the .htaccess file I have compared the 2.4.9 against the 2.4.17 and there were only 2 new lines added (row 150 + 151):

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  # Access Restrictions: Protect ProcessWire system files
  # -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# Allow screenshot files (for install.php only: this 1 line below may be removed after install)
  RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !(^|/)site-[^/]+/install/[^/]+\.(jpg|jpeg|png|gif)$
  # Block access to any htaccess files
  RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (^|/)\.htaccess$ [NC,OR]

You need to update that manually.

Then you should start the site by log into the admin and also view your site from the frontend.

• Like 3

Good points from Horst.