Mike Rockett

Excluding repeaters from $pages->find()

Greetings :)

I'm new to PW, and think it's fantastic! Never, ever, have I seen such an amazing CMF!

Anyways, to my question: I had set some Hanna Code to render a list of page suggestions on the http404 page, which works perfectly. The problem, however, comes in when I use repeaters, which are page instances.

The page suggestion renderer has the following:

$suggestions = $pages->find('name|title|summary|body%='.$request);

I have a page that is named services-industries, and repeaters with the word services in the name. As such, repeaters appear in the suggestion results-list if applicable to the search.

How can I exclude/remove those?

Welcome! Repeaters shouldn't be there, since they are hidden. Do you have include=hidden in selector also?

Also do you really need the name in the selector?

Hi :) No, I don't have any selectors like that.

I thought that since I'm searching for suggestions based on the request (which is the name), that I should also be searching for others by name as well. Nonetheless, if I remove name from the query, I still get the repeaters.

Though, I've just noticed that they only appear when I am logged in. Each repeater contains a link to itself in the backend. But when you click on it, it says that there's no Process for this. This is an example URI: /administration/repeaters/for-field-136/

Anyways, if I'm logged out, it's cool. Perhaps there's a bug, or was it like that intentionally?

I've noticed the same thing: when logged in, all repeaters are included in the search results. I don't know if this is ok, or if there's a reason. It looks weird to me :mellow:

A temporary fix would be using this"!template^=repeater_", but maybe someone should file a github issue, so Ryan can take a look at it. 

Repeaters are stored in admin with own template not "admin" template, so a logged in superuser see's them but others not.