Specifying a Page Title (<title>) different from "Title" in Processwire

Christophe

Hello,

I'm just starting to learn Processwire.

If needed, I would like to be able to specify a Page Title (<title>) different from "Title" in Processwire.

For Headline, it is written:

Use this instead of the Title if a longer headline is needed than what you want to appear in navigation.

Often we also need a Page Title different from the menu link. Page Titles can be different/longer for SEO or other reasons, and menu links shorter for convenience for instance.

How can this be done and a "field" input be added to Processwire's Admin?

And/or the Page Title could use the Headline value (if it exists of course) instead of the "Title" value. This would be easier to implement I suppose. 

Thanks in advance

You can add as many fields as you wish to any template. So you could create the following text fields, for example:

menu_title - for you menus

head_title - for you <title> tag

snippet_title - for a listing somewhere

main_title - for the actual page

And so on, and then just use them as you wish.

For instance, you could put <title><?=$page->head_title ?></title> in your head html.

I strongly suggest you do a couple of the tutorials on the wiki so that you understand a little more how it all works and then it will become clear:

http://wiki.processwire.com/index.php/Main_Page

Note: a couple of mine are getting a bit out of date, but they will still get you started.

Thank you :).

I've just found that I had an answer after connecting to the forum again.
I didn't receive any notification in my email account, so I've come back here to check.

I wasn't (totally) sure if custom field "inputs" would be added to the administration area automatically.

I am starting with this tutorial: http://processwire.com/api/tutorials/development-getting-started/, also present in the wiki.