Module: Spex: An asset and template management module

Jonathan Dart

Hi Guys,

I'd like to share a module the development team at metric marketing and I came up with. I have a lot of experience with the Symfony framework, and when working with PW I came to miss some of the practices I grew accustomed to when working with PW. This module is aimed at bridging my previous experience with doing things to PW way.

I have a big readme on the github project so be sure to check that out to get all the details: https://github.com/jdart/Spex

From the readme "The project makes use of lessphp, less.js, jQuery, modernizr, Minify and the ProcessWire Minify Module."

There's an example site in the github repo that illustrates how Spex works:

https://github.com/jdart/Spex/tree/master/example-site

In short your template file isn't responsible for including the head and foot etc... and instead is injected into a layout. In addition to this is adds some conventions for adding css/less/js to the page so that it can be combined and minified.

Have a look through it and let me know if you have any feedback.

• Like 8

Looks cool Jonathan! I look forward to taking a closer look soon. In reading the notes, I noticed what you said of head.inc/foot.inc and just wanted to mention that most of us don't actually use that method. It's just what it is in the default profile purely because it's the simplest for newbies to understand (and most similar to the WordPress approach). So the use of head.inc/foot.inc is really more about making things easy to understand and a gentle introduction, but it's probably not the way to go as your needs grow.