evan

sorting by page title, with some complexity

Hi,

Is there an easy way to add rules to the "sort" selector, or otherwise manipulate search results directly with PHP?  I'm trying to sort results by Page title, but I want to ignore any initial "the", "an", or "a."

I know I can export the results into an array, manipulate them, and then display them, but that would disrupt pagination, and seems clunky. Surely there's an elegant solution?

Thanks!

-evan

Hi evan,

maybe this does work?

$pages->find('!title^=the |an |a , sort=title');

Just an idea. There are some limits on the length of words, i'm not an expert here.

If it doesn't work, I'd go with the array.

Hi evan,

maybe this does work?

$pages->find('!title^=the |an |a , sort=title');

Just an idea. There are some limits on the length of words, i'm not an expert here.

If it doesn't work, I'd go with the array.

Not really. This excludes pages such as "their", "another", "about"

Maybe: $pages->find('!title^="the "|"an "|"a ", sort=title');   ?

Not really. This excludes pages such as "their", "another", "about"

Tested? I added a space after the keywords in my selector for this cases

Just to clarify, I'm not looking to exclude Pages that begin with the/a/an, but rather alphabetize them by the second word if they do start with any of those.  For example, given these Page titles:

Aguirre, the Wrath Of God
The Wild Blue Yonder
Cave of Forgotten Dreams
Stroszek
Lessons of Darkness
A Heart Of Glass

It should produce:

Aguirre, the Wrath Of God
Cave of Forgotten Dreams
A Heart Of Glass
Lessons of Darkness
Stroszek
The Wild Blue Yonder

What would be amazing if there was an optional field in find() that would let you call up a PHP function, in which you could manipulate the results.   Unless, of course, you can do something like that already.

-evan

Add a text field to add an alternative sort title to sort by it instead. No other way if you still want to keep it easy with pager.