GPL v3

mindplay.dk

Many other projects are upgrading from GPL version 2 licensing to version 3 these days.

In order to be legally compatible with other GPL version 3 licensed libraries, maybe it's time for ProcessWire to consider upgrading?

Hi, i dont like GPL v3. Its too much restricted than free.

Hi, i dont like GPL v3. Its too much restricted than free.

Compared to GPL v2 currently used, how is it more restrictive, could you perhaps elaborate this a bit further?

Taking a quick look at some articles and overviews of differences it would seem that v3 isn't such a huge change but could actually make things easier and more precise especially when dealing with other licenses. Affero license on the other hand seems a bit too intrusive for my taste..

I'm no expert in this subject, so I could be completely wrong here. Is anyone familiar enough with these to explain what moving on would mean for a project like ProcessWire? :)

Compared to GPL v2 currently used, how is it more restrictive, could you perhaps elaborate this a bit further?

Taking a quick look at some articles and overviews of differences it would seem that v3 isn't such a huge change but could actually make things easier and more precise especially when dealing with other licenses. Affero license on the other hand seems a bit too intrusive for my taste..

I'm no expert in this subject, so I could be completely wrong here. Is anyone familiar enough with these to explain what moving on would mean for a project like ProcessWire? :)

I am not licence expert but:

Seems to me like GPL v3 limits developers to release software how they want.

Whole software must be release with GPL compatible licence. (Cant choose different licence)

For example if i take GPL3 CMS, change it little and deploy to my server, i must give

my source code too...?

For me is better BSD licence.

Seems to me like GPL v3 limits developers to release software how they want.