Display Total Comment Count

Nicole

Hello again everyone,

I'm creating a template with an easy-to-use front-end adminbar (basically says: "Edit Page", "New Page", "Add News", "Add Product") and to make it more "user-friendly" it has the editor avatar and name as well as the options for "Profile, Help and Logout". I wanted to use PW's Comments Fieldtype and found that it's possible to display comment count here: http://processwire.c...rns-odd-number/ and I also found that it's possible to check comments since the last visit here: http://processwire.c...nce-last-visit/

I am now wondering *if* it's possible to display the total comment *count* from all pages containing the 'comments' field. Basically like this:

"Welcome Back admin, there are {$comment-count} new comments."

and that would redirect to the Comments Manager module.

I've looked around the forum but didn't find anything similar, and I'm not really good with PHP so I might've overlooked a function.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Can I use something like: $count = count($comment) ?

To get all pending comments you'd have to loop through all pages that can have comments and have more than 0 comments. Then find the pending comments (status=0) and count them.

$total = 0;
foreach($pages->find("comments.count>0") as $p){
   $total += $p->comments->find("status=0")->count();
}
echo "$total comments pending";
  • Like 2

We haven't accounted for a site-wide count in the API. But you could still do it fairly easily with an SQL query:

$result = $db->query("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM field_comments"); 
list($numTotal) = $result->fetch_row(); 
echo "<p>There are $numTotal total comments</p>";

$result = $db->query("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM field_comments WHERE status=0"); 
list($numPending) = $result->fetch_row(); 
echo "<p>There are $numPending comments waiting approval</p>";

$yesterday = strtotime("yesterday"); 
$result = $db->query("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM field_comments WHERE created>=$yesterday");