Grigorij Schleifer

A total beginners question ..

Hello processwire community, I am a total CMS beginner and I am trying to install processwire on my mac.

I have downloaded processwire using git and loaded the location, where the files where downloaded into chrome, safary or opened the location from the terminal. No installation guide startet. I just typed the directory location into the browsers url address bar and could see all the files that were downloaded. When I tried to open installl.php file, my browser just showed me the code.

I think I am missing something trivial. Do I need to install a specific PHP version and MySQL first? Or do I need to set up an Apache server first. 

I am very thankful for every suggestion/help I can get.

Thank you

Hello @Grigorij Schleifer and welcome to the Processwire forums.

You will definitely need to install an AMP package on your mac before you will be able to run Processwire locally. (AMP = Apache, MySQL and PHP.) I personally don't use a mac so I can't advise you about the best option there - but hopefully one of our mac users will read this thread soon and join the conversation.

I am watching an old (2013) youtube tutorial and the mentor is uploading the files to a remote server/site by using an FTP client. Do I need a web host server already set up for me to work with processwire or is there a way to start playing around with the software locally?

I am having difficulties understanding the following "Simply extract the ProcessWire files to an http accessible location and load the URL in your web browser"

Any ideas?

Thanks again

33 minutes ago, Grigorij Schleifer said:

is there a way to start playing around with the software locally?

Yes. Install MAMP (for MAC), the free version; not MAMP Pro.

Welcome to ProcessWire and the forums.

Edited by kongondo

You don't need a web host already in place to start using pw, you do need a local server with apache,mysql and php installed as @netcarver already mentioned.