Lmwt

Tutorial for dropdown in front end: PageField or Select Options Fieldtype?

Hi there,

I am new to PW but already very convinced. I need to build a dropdown button to browse in a collection of authors by country and language. The dropdown should be editable in the BACK and displayed on the same as the authors collection. I tried my luck with "PageField Creator" but I don't know how to display the dropdown, I simply used: 

"$content .=$page->Land;" (the name of the select field)

but nothing is displayed...

I see there is a 2nd module out there to achieve this : "Select Options Fieldtype". I am not sure what is the difference, anyone has a tip?

And a clear tutorial with the necessary steps to build this? I am a bit confused which should be the parent template or page, if it should have a file or not...

Thanks a lot in advance!

I asume you are talking about the page reference field. With "Select Options Fieldtype" you define options in field settings, while for page reference field, you use pages as options (any pages), you can select pages by template, parent page, or a custom selector etc... For the dropdown, you have to write your own markup, processwire doesn't do any automatic front-end work for you.

Hi dear helpers,

after some time I managed all the front end but... have this last problem:

I want that on "submit" the page of the selected option to be opened. I could do this easily with javascript but I CAN'T figure out how to insert a <script> tag :( why is that not working in this html markup...?

so I came up with this code where I want the selected value to be set as title of the page linked (see "action" in the form tag):

<form id="search_lang" action='<?php echo $pages->get('template=publisher-language, title=$selected')->url;?>' method='get'>

<label for='search_lang'>Language</label>
				<select id='search_lang' name='lang'>
						<option value='' selected></option>
				<?php