sam-vital

Beginner Deploying PW Site

Hi,

So I am a complete beginner with PW, just finishing up my first site, and I need to get my site online to do some final testing. Got all the FTP stuff sorted and I'm getting a internal server error when access my domain.

I transferred over all files from processwire-master, and even when I am on local host I get sent to the index of my site, where I then click on processwire-master to be taken to my site.

Where did I go wrong?

Thanks!

... and check the contents of the .htaccess file.

There are some comments about this. Search for "500 NOTE" in the .htaccess file.

What about the database? Copied it? appropriate login/password?

• Like 1

The easiest way for you to migrate your site will probably be using an export of your site - a so called site profile.

Please install the module Site Profile Exporter and and create a new export.

Afterwards you can install your exported site on your new host.

Just upload ProcessWire, your site profile and install it as usual.

• Like 2

It's indeed an awesome module.

But to be honest... in my opinion it's a module for advanced (ProcessWire) users.

There are a few steps to be taken and you have to have some more routine in installing and handling ProcessWire instances.

9 minutes ago, dragan said:

Moving a PW site is a breeze, even without any special tools. Here's how: https://processwire.com/docs/tutorials/installation-moving-and-troubleshooting/

I would love to agree but I can't in this special case.

For a developer with some years of experience and knowledge this should be a no-brainer. Absolutely true.

But for those who just started with (web) development and have all their database stuff in phpMyAdmin it might be not.

• Like 1

Clean cache and sessions and then it is as simple as 1 2 3

1)  move over site folder
2)  import database
3)  adapt config file

• Like 1

On 6/19/2018 at 3:19 AM, sam-vital said:

I'm getting a internal server error when access my domain.