Guy Verville

PHP generator class and $pages->find()

First of all, I'm not an expert on PHP. I recently read about generators and I understand their usefulness in avoiding loading a set of objects into an array to the point of saturating the memory.

The $pages->find() call is known to be greedy (and slow) when it comes to processing large amounts of pages, because it loads all objects into memory.

Is there a way to use a generator to avoid this problem? Is there a workaround? I know that $pages->findMany() exists, but it is also called greedy.

See https://secure.php.net/manual/en/language.generators.php

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Generators are PHP 5.5+ so it won‘t fit for ProcessWire, which is still running down to PHP 5.3. But the new $pages->findMany() works similarly to how generators work.

• Like 2

I was under the impression that findMany() was loading everything into memory. Maybe I'm wrong...  I will do some tests, thanks.

The reason for adding findMany() was to not load all pages into memory like find() does. It does so by harnessing PHP iterators to load batches of pages within a foreach loop and discard already computed batches to free up memory again.

• Like 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

• Similar Content

• By John W.
      SYNOPSIS
      A little guide to generating an sitemap.xml using (I believe) a script Ryan originally wrote with the addition of being able to optionally exclude child pages from being output in the sitemap.xml file.