Sign in to follow this  
recyclerobot

wildcard input field valid file extensions

Hi guys,

I would like to allow any file extension to be uploaded on a certain field, I'm aware of the security implications but this field would only be used by myself, I've tried "*" wildcard but that does not seem to work

You already have the capability to add any extension to the file field. One option I utilize is to add the *.zip extension and then use that to enclose whatever files I want to add.

A while back while importing some 10k pages from another system I wrote an import script that would sniff the extension of the file, and if it wasn't yet allowed, it would first add it to allowed extensions and only then add the file. In this particular case I knew that all files were "safe", but there were dozens of different extensions to account for.

To me this idea seems to make sense: as a developer I should have the option of saying that it's safe to insert "anything" in this specific field. A warning would still make sense, considering that not everyone who has access to these options will understand the risks involved.

On a related note, I'm wondering if supporting regex would make sense here? Seems to me like one way to support just about every imaginable requirement in a future-proof way. It might confuse some vs. the old * trick, but then again, simple regex is not that much more difficult; just prefix the star with a dot :)

• Like 1

What if the input is left empty? Wouldn't that enable all extensions?

That's not an option; in this case the field becomes unusable. In my opinion this is correct behaviour: not having anything defined here sounds more like a half-configured field or a mistake than something the developer did intentionally and knowingly.

• Like 1

With a normal file or image field it will not let you save an empty "Valid File Extensions".