Crowdfunded Tinypng Integration Module

EDIT after couple of days on the forum:

Thanks all for your thoughts, we only raised 200$, and no one offered to code it

since I am not a coder, only a very happy user of the great processwire cms

I guess this will not happen - at least not now.

Great discussion on the technical side of things, thanks for that!

CROWDFUNDED SO far:

OllieMackJames 100$

Peter Knight 100$

=================shout out below and I'll add your amount here============================

I would love to see a tinypng/tinyjpg integration module for processwire. Main focus is to get solid and good image compression, nothing else.

There is already a php api: https://tinypng.com/developers/reference/php

Who else is interested in this?

Who would like to build it?

What I would like it to do is the following:

- have a backend where image compression settings can be changed/set

- image compression upon upload

- image compression of already uploaded files

- procache integration

- no interference with other modules like thumbnails or croppableimage (they should work with the optimized images)

Please reply if you would like this module to happen, and how much you can contribute to the development costs, once ready the module will be given to the community

then also reply your wishes.

If you would like to build the module, please give a quote so we - the crowd - know how much to fund!

@OllieMackJames: interesting thing.

There are some thoughts that comes to my mind directly in regard for an understanding how imageprocessing works in PW:

• there is already a service integrated for minifying images (jpeg and png): ProcessImageMinimize.pw

• it is not possible to further manipulate minimized images, as I assume you meant with other modules (thumbnails etc) should work with the minimized images. This will lead in very very bad quality and sometimes corrupt looking images.