Categories not visible. Incorrect setup?

FrancisChung

Hi there,

I've setup Categories as an unpublished page with child pages with basic-page as the template.

I think this was the recommended setup as per several forum postings.

Home/Categories

Home/Categories/Category1

Home/Categories/Category2

I've just found out that I can't get a list of the Categories or the pages via the Pages object.

$pages->get("/Categories") yields nothing

If I change the visibility to unpublished to hidden, I can see the pages but then I have a problem where the /Categories URL becomes accessible. 

Is there a way to get around this?

I'm new to Processwire & Web Development in general so apologies if this is a trivial question

Often those accessable url's are used for the pages only showing a specific category, but you can surely prevent that.

• One way would be using only templates without a corresponding template.php file. If there's no file, then there's nothing to render, which results in the default 404 error.
  • Another way would be using the right selector to get the categories $pages->find("parent.id=[path=/categories, include=unpublished]"). This does get you all children of the page found by the selector within the square brackets (subselector). Keep in mind, that urls are always lowercase.
  • Like 2

The second method works for me.

Danke LostKobrakai for the quick reply!

Often those accessable url's are used for the pages only showing a specific category, but you can surely prevent that.

• One way would be using only templates without a corresponding template.php file. If there's no file, then there's nothing to render, which results in the default 404 error.
  • Another way would be using the right selector to get the categories $pages->find("parent.id=[path=/categories, include=unpublished]"). This does get you all children of the page found by the selector within the square brackets (subselector). Keep in mind, that urls are always lowercase.