MarcU

wiki.processwire.com - simple news system tutorial

Hi guy's

I'm new with PW and very happy with it - thanks alot Ryan and team for this great work!

I just completed the simple news system tutorial on the wiki page (thanks alot to the author - who was it?) - works perfect, except for one thing:

I would like to get the categories-breadcrumb - when a news list of a specific category is displayed - take me to the main news page with all news items listed. Now it gives me 404. Allowing the url segment news/categories - where the breadcrumb points to - in the TUT_news_index template or the TUT_news_index unfortunately didn't make it work.

Same problem with the news-articles breadcrumb link on the article display page. See attached screenshots.

Is anyone familiar with the tutorial / the simple news system and coud give me a hint?

Thanks alot for any help in advance.

Cheers, Markus from beautiful Switzerland

post-3521-0-60724700-1434886626_thumb.jp

post-3521-0-41291300-1434886627_thumb.jp

Edited by LostKobrakai
Moved to general support

Sorry folks, I have to get into it first - my problem was in fact very simple and here I found simple solution myself:

For each of the two hidden pages "news-articles" and "categories" I made a template-file with the following redirect:

<?php
$session->redirect("../news/");
?>

Maybe Joss could add this to the wiki page.

Works perfect now. Problem solved, but is there any built-in way of managing redirects in PW? I could't find any module with this specific functionality.

Cheers, Markus

Hi Mr Fan

sorry again. In the access-tab of a no-file template I only get the first row ("do you want to manage..."). The rest ("What to do..." is missing. Where can I get it? Do I have to install a module first?

Markus

Oh sorry forgot - empty template file is missing....but you don't habe to redirect manual via session....just fast from the phone...

edit: should really work without template file...

Edited by mr-fan

Danke, mr-fan