About Union Trust Building
The Union Trust Building (501 Grant St., downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania), was erected in 1915-16 by the industrialist Henry Clay Frick. The Flemish-Gothic structure's original purpose was to serve as a shopping arcade.The building is modeled after the famous Municipal Hall at Louvain, Belgium, partly destroyed by the Germans. Known as the Union Arcade, it featured 240 shops and galleries. The mansard roof is adorned with terra cotta dormers and two chapel like mechanical towers. The interior is arranged about a central rotunda, capped by a stained glass dome. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Designed by Frederick J. Osterling, the building was constructed on the site of Pittsburgh's nineteenth century St. Paul's Catholic Cathedral. The Union Trust Company purchased the structure in 1923, renaming it from the Union Arcade to the Union Trust Building, as well as remodeling the first four floors. Its current owner is the Mika Realty Group and is being remodeled as a LEED-certified building. The building's unique roof is the result of a restrictive covenant placed on the land by its previous owner, the Diocese of Pittsburgh.